ZeeNews24.com provide latest world news, top news, breaking news about politics, donald trump, sports, technology, health, entertainment and much more.

Sports Today: Brazil win U-17 World Cup title with dramatic win over Mexico |

Sports Today News Desk:

Brazil clinched their fourth Under-17 World Cup trophy in thrilling circumstances against Mexico.


World Cup hosts Brazil triumphed 2-1 thanks to Lazaro Vinicius Marques’ 93rd-minute winner on Sunday.

Mexico – winners of the showpiece tournament in 2005 and 2011 – looked on track to add a third title to their collection when Bryan Alonso Gonzalez Olivan headed home the opener in the 66th minute.

Editors’ Picks

But Brazil, playing in front of legends Ronaldo and Cafu, rallied courtesy of Kaio Jorge’s penalty with six minutes of regulation remaining.

Brazil completed the comeback deep into stoppage time when Lazaro volleyed home the last-gasp winner.

The victory added to Brazil’s successes in 1997, 1999 and 2003 as they moved within one of Nigeria’s record of five championships.

The Selecao won all eight of their games at the tournament with Kaio Jorge the side’s top goal scorer with five strikes to his name.


Mexico meanwhile, who recently won the U-17 Concacaf tournament, drew their opening match against Paraguay before ending the group stages with an emphatic 8-0 win over Solomon Islands.

They then required penalties to dispatch Netherlands in the semi-finals and will be gutted to have let a lead slip so late against Brazil in the decider.

Dutch striker Sontje Hansen ended the World Cup with the golden boot for his six goals, while Selecao star Gabriel Veron was voted the best player of the tournament.

France claimed bronze in Brazil after beating Netherlands 3-1 in their third-place match with Arnaud Kalimuendo-Muinga netting a hat-trick for the winners.


England, who won the U-17 World Cup in 2017, failed to qualify for the tournament.

Peru, who last competed in 2007, are set to host the next tournament in two years time with 24 nations to compete across six cities.

Follow us @zeenews24com
First Publish Date: 2019-11-18 06:25:49
Author: Sacha Pisani , (Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by ZeeNews24 staff and is published from a source)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.